Call us : +234- 809-230-7303 or +234-701-821-1557
Mail us :

National Open University Of Nigeria

Special Centers > Business > Universities > National Open University Of Nigeria
« Back to the Business Directory index

National Open University Of Nigeria

  • Year founded: 1983
  • Address 14/16 Ahmadu Bello Way Victoria Island, Lagos. Nigeria
  • Categories: Universities

National Open University Of Nigeria Headquarters in Lagos

The National Open University was initially established on 22 July 1983 as springboard for open and distance learning in Nigeria. It was suspended by the government on 25 April 1984. However, its resuscitation was begun on the 12th of April 2001 by the former President of Nigeria, Gen. Olusegun Obasanjo. At take off of the university, pioneer student enrollment stood at 32,400.[5]

In 2011, NOUN had about 57,759 students.[3] The Vice Chancellor is Prof. Vincent Tenebe .[2] The National Open University of Nigeria operates from its Administrative Headquarters in Victoria Island, Lagos, with Study Centres throughout the country.[5] It offers over 50 programmes and 750 courses.[5]

NOUN does not provide lectures to students in normal classrooms except some certain study centres, primarily due to constraints known to the University alone and the challenges usually faced by a developing tertiary institution. The study centre in Lagos for instance provides lectures to all its Law undergraduates and supplies necessary course materials to all students after the payment of tuition fees. All courses offered have been accredited by the National Universities Commission (NUC).

The Registrar serves as the Secretary to Council and Senate bodies. The Registry Department’s primary responsibility is to provide support services in the General Administration of the University with emphasis on Council affairs, Senate matters, recruitment of Staff, Students’ admission/welfare, Staff welfare and other related activities. The registrar is in person Mrs. Josephine Olasumbo Akinyemi.[6]
Schools and courses
School of Science and Technology

Post Graduate Programmes

-Information Technology

-Digital Communication

-Mobile (Wireless) Communication Technology


-Agriculture and Extension

Undergraduate Programs


-Computer and Mathematics (Combined Hons)

-Computer Science

-Data Management

-Communications Technology

-Agricultural Extension and Management

-Nursing Science

-Community Health

-Environmental Science and Resource Management (ESM)

-Financial Mathematics



School of Health Science


-Public Health
School of Arts and Social Sciences

-French And International Studies

-Mass Communication

-Peace, Conflict and Resolution

-English Language


-Political Science -Criminology and security studies
School of Law

-Law LLB

The LLB (Law) of The National Open University is the Best, but the Council of Legal Education is not admitting Law Graduates from NOUN, This is an example of pure wickedness and envy of the Law Graduates of NOUN.

NOUN Law graduates will do far better than Law graduates from other conventional Universities at The Nigerian Law School, due to the fear they try to keep NOUN Law graduates away from Law School, Because They are Better Than the rest. The National Open University of Nigeria in Abuja on Tuesday 9th of August, 2016, formally announced the suspension of admissions into its Law programme.

The decision, according to its Vice-Chancellor, Prof. Abdallah Adamu, was sequel to the exclusion of graduates of its Law programme by the Council for Legal Education, from attending the Nigerian Law School.

He also premised the decision on the advice by the National Universities Commission that students should be stopped from undertaking the course, pending the resolution of the impasse generated by the refusal of the Law School to allow NOUN graduates to attend its programme.
School of Education

Undergraduate programmes:

-Agric Science



-Computer Science


-Integrated Science


-Business Education

-Primary Education

-Early Childhood Education



Masters Programmes

-Admin and Planning

-Science Education

-Education Technology
School of Management Sciences

Undergraduate Courses

-Cooperat -Entr epreneurial and Business Management

-Accounting in collaboration with the Institute of Chartered Accountants of Nigeria not accredited by NUC

Post Graduate courses

-Financial Management

-Business Administration

-Public Administration

-Master of Business Administration

-Public Administration

-Public Sector Management
Centre for Life-Long Learning and Workplace Training

Diploma Programmes

Business Communication

Medical Office Practice


Financial Management

Academic Certificate Programmes

Dental Office Practice

Computer Literacy

Returning Students

Medical Office Practice

Financial Management


Marketing [7]